On air from 18h till 20h

This is a collab between WAV and Cinema Zuid.
During the summer Cinema Zuid will screen a music documentary every friday.

WAV will warm things up with a soundtrack at Pixel café, just before the screening.
The soundtrack will be provided by a connaisseur / selector.

Sakamoto started to get famous early ’80’s as a member of the Japanese synth rockband Yellow Magic Orchestra. He collaborated with people like David Sylvian & David Bowie and won an Oscar in 1987 for his soundtrack to Berolucci’s ‘The Last Emperor’. In “Ryuichi Sakamoto: Coda” you’ll discover everything on the musical career of one of the world’s best composers.

For the pre-film radio session we have the honour to invite Yves De Mey.

Yves De Mey’s musical path consists of many different roads. During the second half of the 90’s, his releases were clearly rooted in breakbeats and UK drum’n’bass. Soon after that, through working for theater and dance performances and doing large scale sound installations, his interest in experimental sound design found its way into his music.
De Mey worked with a wide roster of artists for the performing arts.

He’s also very active as a sound designer and sound engineer for film and tv, doing various jobs, ranging from alienated sound design to mixing for cinema.

In 2009 his album “Lichtung” (based on the score he made for a dance performance) was released by the influential Line label. Around that time, De Mey’s main tool in the studio became his ever-expanding modular synthesizer system. This definitely changed his way of working and obviously his sound as well, shifting from an elaborate niftiness in the digital realm to an obsessive cable-patched shaping of the real sound of electricity.

Between 2009 and today, De Mey released numerous records on different labels (Line, Sandwell District, Opal Tapes,Entr’acte, Modal Analysis,…) to wide critical acclaim, and he has played live concerts and DJ-sets around the world.
2016 was a milestone year with well-received albums on Spectrum Spools (Drawn with Shadow Pens) and on Editions Mego (with his other project Sendai – Ground and Figure).

Together with his good friend Peter Van Hoesen (from Sendai), he also runs Archives Intérieures, a label for challenging and sophisticated electronic music.

In 2017, the UK based Inner Surface label released a full album of De Mey’s other moniker Grey Branches, called Neuroclaps. It’s a somewhat wild take on what could be non-functional club music.

In early 2018, the french label Latency released Yves’ Bleak Comfort, his latest full album. Described by Boomkat, one of the biggest online stores for music as “highly impressive electronic music that leaves the listener heavily disoriented and quite possibly motion-sick”.

  1. Yellow Magic Orchestra: Insomnia
  2. Ryuichi Sakamoto + David Sylvian: Bamboo Houses
  3. Ryuichi Sakamoto: Execution
  4. Fennesz + Sakamoto: Sala Santa Lucia
  5. Alva Noto + Sakamoto: Duoon
  6. Solo Andate: Chorale (Look For Me Here) (Remix by Ryuichi Sakamoto)
  7. Yellow Magic Orchestra: Pure Jam
  8. Ryuichi Sakamoto: Exhibition
  9. Alva Noto + Sakamoto: First Dream
  10. Fennesz + Sakamoto: Haru
  11. Alva Noto + Sakamoto: Out of Horse
  12. Ryuichi Sakamoto: E-3A
  13. Yellow Magic Orchestra: Key
  14. Willits + Sakamoto: Chi-yu
  15. Ryuichi Sakamoto: Riot in Lagos
  16. Yellow Magic Orchestra: Expecting Rivers (Instrumental)
  17. Yellow Magic Orchestra: Daytripper
  18. Alva Noto + Sakamoto: Cat & Mouse
  19. Fennesz + Sakamoto: Mono
  20. Alva Noto + Sakamoto: Logic Moon
  21. Willits + Sakamoto: Cold Heat
  22. Ryuichi Sakamoto + David Sylvian: Forbidden Colors
  23. Ryuichi Sakamoto: Zure – Yves Tumor Obsession Edit